Archive for October 9th, 2014

Opening of the new Havant Halfords Autocentre – 6th October

October 9, 2014

Halfords Engagement

On a pouring wet morning I went along to open this new business in Havant which has brought in a further 6 jobs to the Borough – all good news. I was welcomed with a warming cup of coffee and a tour around their spotlessly clean premises I asked if it was clean because it was new but was told by the Manager David, that no, ‘a clean workshop equals a good clean and safe job’. I had a brand new experience of looking underneath a car and peering under the bonnet – one of the few bits that I recognised and inspected was the dip stick – for checking your oil!

I cut the ribbon and declared the business open. I wish them all the greatest success.

 

Harvest Festival Service at Winchester Cathedral – 5th October

October 9, 2014

I attended this very special service at Winchester Cathedral lead by The Very Reverend James Atwell, Dean of Winchester. This was a lively service ending with some children offering gifts and presenting them to the Dean. These comprised, Cheese for the Dairy, Salad from the Gardens, Fruit from the Orchards, Flour from the Fields, Fudge, cakes, jams and jellies from the Kitchen.

At one stage we all sat and listened while Alastair Stewart OBE ran a ‘Question Time’. He asked questions of Angi Hill (New Forest National Farmers’ Union Branch Chair) Peter Niccolls (Hatchett Herd of Pedigree Dexters), Geoff Morgan (Board Member of the New Forest Show) and Chris D’Olley (Trustee of R.A.B.I.) [R.A.B.I. is a charity providing support for members of the farming community who
are in need, throughout England, Wales and Northern Ireland] which highlighted several problems that farmers are facing.

All together a very interesting experience.

 

Acorn Centre event celebrating their 10th Anniversary – 3rd October

October 9, 2014

I dashed from Havant to Hart Plain for the above. They had kindly waited to open their evening officially until I arrived. I had the strange experience of welcoming everybody when they had arrived before me! I was welcomed by Ann Waters and yet again by Ashley Bowden who I had met a few weeks ago and we sat down to a lovely cream tea.

The evening got underway when Ann gave a potted history of the last 10 years explaining how the centre had really begun from very small beginnings. They have an incredibly keen and loyal band of volunteers who do a marvellous job at the centre and at Billy’s Lake; Ann went on to talk about how a group had started to clear up Billy’s Lake and take possession and responsibility for this beautiful reclaimed area. I was asked to talk about my experience at the open day and I had great pleasure in re-living my experience of that lovely day.

Several past Mayor’s, who had been involved with the Acorn Centre over the last 10 years also attended the celebration and many photographs were taken.

 

Havant Literary Festival – Opening Ceremony – 3rd October

October 9, 2014

On Friday afternoon I performed the official opening of the Havant Literary Festival at the Spring Arts and Heritage Centre where the 3 winners of the poetry competition were awarded their prizes.

These poems were thought provoking and were excellent – I would like to congratulate the writers on their work. Unfortunately I was only able to stay a very short time as I had a follow on engagement at the other end of the Borough. Nonetheless, this was a grand start to the festival and a shame I couldn’t do the trail which followed on. I am sure many of you will have taken part in some of the activities that are on offer during the festival. Congratulations to the organisers and sponsor!