HSO July 7th

A very pleasant way to finish a very wet day!

This evening Elaine & I were guests of the Havant Symphony Orchestra at Ferneham Hall in Fareham.

This was the final concert of their 50th season, having started playing at Havant Grammar School, now Havant College, before moving to Oaklands RC School in Waterlooville. When audience numbers grew to large for that venue they made their move to Fareham, as there is no suitable venue in the Havant area.

This evening’s concert featured four pieces of music. to start the Orchestra played the Overture to Rossini’s ‘The Siege of Corinth’ followed by Grieg’s ‘Old Norwegian Romance’, Opus 51.

After the Grieg, we were treated to the piano Concerto No. 1 in E flat major by Franz Liszt, the soloist being James Willshire, who last played with the orchestra in January 2011 at the annual concert at Oaklands School.

The longest piece 0f the evening, following the interval, was the Symphony No 4 in E Minor, Opus 98 by Johannes Brahms.

After a very nice evening in the dry, it was then out into the rain to head home.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: